CCA Standards

MNL-127, Erector’s Manual – Standards and Guidelines for the Erection of Precast Concrete Products, and MNL-132, Erection Safety for Precast and Prestressed Concrete, are the study texts used for CCA certification. Topics include:

  • Quality management system documentation
  • Record-keeping standards and requirements
  • Quality assurance concepts and principles
  • Field quality control
  • Erection safety plans
  • Training, safety and fall protection programs

CCA Required Skills and Knowledge

Candidates for PCI Certified Company Auditor should be familiar with:

  • Topics covers for CFA certification,
  • Quality assurance,
  • Management responsibilities,
  • Safety policies,
  • Precast concrete construction processes,
  • Fall protection plans,
  • Precast project specifications,
  • 29 CFR 1926 OSHA Construction Industry Regulations and its applicability in the field while erecting precast concrete pieces, and
  • Basic auditing principles.

Candidates for PCI Certified Company Auditor should have experience:

  • Facilitating meetings,
  • Conducting interviews, and
  • Verifying and collecting information.

CCA Requirements

Candidates for Certified Company Auditor (CCA) certification must meet the following requirements:

  • Hold an active CFA certification
  • Submit a signed and endorsed CCA certification application
  • Attend a PCI CCA training course
  • Have two (2) years of experience in the supervision (foreman or above) of the erection of precast concrete, or equivalent
  • Pass a PCI CCA certification examination

CCA Certification Examination

  • The CCA exam is a 33-question multiple choice closed-book exam.
  • The examinee is allowed one hour (60 minutes) to complete the examination, and a minimum score of 70% is required to complete the examination requirement for certification.

CCA Recertification

CCA certification is valid for a period of five years from the examination date. Recertification requires meeting all the above requirements for initial certification but does not require attending another PCI CCA School. Recertification with examination is required every five years until the individual has taken three exams over a 10-year period. Individuals who have passed three (3) CCA exams over a 10-year period and have been continuously certified at CCA for 15 years no longer have to meet the examination requirement.

Recertification without examination requires completion of a certification application, submittal of the request for exam exemption, and current CFA certification. The individual’s certification application must include evidence of acceptable continuing education and/or training every five (5) years.  Continuing education or training must include one of the following:

  1. Attend a PCI approved CCA school (without taking the examination),
  2. Pass the CCA examination administered by proctor with a minimum grade of 80%,
  3. Submit evidence of fifteen (15) hours (total for five (5) years) of continuing education or training in the field of erection, safety, or other topics relevant to the erection industry,
  4. Submit evidence of 36 months, (total for five (5) years) of continuing work experience in the field of erection in the precast industry, or
  5. Submit evidence of conducting a total of ten (10) company audits in the previous five (5) years.

Failure to recertify within ninety (90) days after the expiration date shall require re-examination. Failure to recertify within six (6) months after the expiration date shall require re-examination and the individual’s certification records will reflect a gap in certification.

CCAs interested in performing Company Audits for PCI please read the Company Audit FAQ.