Level II Standards

TM-101, Quality Control Technician/Inspector Level I & II Training Manual, is the study text used for Level II certification. Topics include:

  • Prepour and postpour inspections
  • Prestressing
  • Elongation calculations
  • Tensioning corrections
  • Correlation testing
  • Aggregate gradations
  • Aggregate moisture
  • Water/cementitious ratio
  • Welding

Level II Required Skills and Knowledge

Candidates for PCI Level II Quality Control Technician/Inspector certification should be familiar with:

  • topics covered by Level I certification
  • prestressing equipment and materials, and
  • tensioning and detensioning operations.

Candidates for PCI Level II Quality Control Technician/Inspector Certification should have experience:

  • developing tensioning calculations,
  • monitoring and documenting stressing operations (equipment and materials),
  • inspecting prestressing materials (strands) and measuring elongations, and
  • inspecting welding operations.

Candidates for PCI certification must have the knowledge of basic math and algebra. Additional resources to help candidates assess their knowledge and access refresher training are available on the Basic Math Skill Requirements section, under Policies and Procedures.

Level II Requirements

Candidates for Level II certification must meet the following requirements:

  • Hold an active PCI Level I certification
  • Submit a signed and endorsed Level II certification application
  • Hold a valid ACI Concrete Field Testing Technician – Grade I certification
  • Meet one of the following experience/education requirements:
    • Twelve (12) months of experience in a precast concrete plant
    • Eighteen (18) months of experience in a related field
    • Bachelor of science degree in civil engineering or related field
    • Associate degree in concrete technology
  • Pass a PCI Level II certification examination

Level II Certification Examination

The Level II exam is a closed-book examination with 60 multiple-choice questions. The examinee is allowed two hours (120 minutes) to complete the examination, and a final score of 70% is required to pass the examination.

Level II Recertification

Level II certification is valid for a period of five years from the examination date. Recertification requires meeting all the above requirements for initial certification. Recertification with examination is required every five years until the individual has taken three exams over a 10-year period. Individuals who have passed three (3) Level II exams over a 10-year period and have been continuously certified at Level II for 15 years no longer have to meet the examination requirement.

Recertification without examination requires completion of a certification application and submittal of the request for exam exemption. The individual’s certification application must include evidence of current ACI Concrete Field Testing Technician - Grade I certification and acceptable continuing education and/or training every five (5) years.  Continuing education or training must include one of the following:

  1. Attend a PCI approved QC school (without taking the examination);
  2. Pass the certification examination administered by proctor;
  3. Submit evidence of fifteen (15) hours (total for five (5) years) of continuing education or training in the field of quality control, design, concrete, prestressing, finishing or other topics relevant to the precast concrete industry; or
  4. Submit evidence of 36 months, (total for five (5) years) of continuing work experience in the field of quality control, engineering or production in the precast industry.

Failure to recertify within ninety (90) days after the expiration date shall require re-examination for Level II. Failure to recertify within six (6) months after the expiration date shall require re-examination and recertification as Level I and Level II, and the individual’s certification records will reflect a gap in certification.