Celebrating its 62nd year, the PCI Design Awards program recognizes design excellence and construction quality using precast concrete.

The program has played a pivotal role in innovation and progress within the design and construction sectors by highlighting groundbreaking ideas that overcome obstacles and enhance existing practices. The program demonstrates the ongoing commitment of designers to utilize precast concrete to achieve sustainable, economically viable, aesthetically pleasing, and quickly-constructed projects. 

All winning projects will be showcased at the 2025 PCI Convention, as well as included in the PCI Design Award Winners summary article, which is published in the PCI Journal, Ascent and Aspire magazines. Together these publications reach more than 30,000 industry stakeholders. We encourage you to take advantage of this great opportunity to showcase your precast concrete project!

Submit Now | Pay for Submission

Schedule and Dates:

2025 PCI Design Awards is accepting submissions until Tuesday, July 16, 2024.

For more information or any questions you may have, please contact PCIDesignAwards@pci.org.

  • All entries are made electronically to the submission site.
  • Projects are entered in one of two primary categories: Building or Transportation. You must select a primary category when you first make a submission.
  • Enter all required submission information. You may save your submission and return to update or complete it any time before the submission deadline. Note: all required fields, marked with a *, must have a value entered in order to save a submission and email addresses must be valid. If you do not have certain information yet, you can write ‘N/A, na@gmail.com, etc.’ into the required box.
  • You must also select the most appropriate subcategory (see lists below). Note: Juries will often consider or move your project into other relevant subcategories.
  • Incomplete submissions will NOT be accepted.
  • We strongly encourage you to review the Guidelines for Submitting document (Buildings or Transportation) before making your entry. These provide examples of submissions as well as additional information.
  • A submission fee of $500 will be charged per project submitted. Please submit your project first and then pay the submission fee. If the submission fee is not paid by the time the submission site closes, the project submitted will not be accepted.

Buildings Subcategories

OF - Office
RT - Retail
ST - Stadiums and Arenas
CM - Convention Meeting Facilities
TH - Theaters
MU - Mixed Use
SC - Schools (K-12)
HE - Higher Education/University
CO - Justice and Correctional
GP - Government and Public Buildings
M - Military
R - Religious
HC - Healthcare/Medical
HL - High Tech/Laboratory
WD - Warehouse/Storage/Distribution Centers
MA - Manufacturing
DC - Data Centers
SF - Single-family
MF - Multi-family
HM - Hotels/Motels
RA - Retirement/Assisted living
PS - Parking structures (all precast)
PS2 - Parking structures (Facade only)
PS3 - Parking structures (Hybrid)
ZZ - Custom solutions
IB - International Buildings (outside of the U.S. and Canada)

Transportation Subcategories

TA - Main span up to 75 feet
TB - Main span from 76-200 feet
TC - Main span more than 201 feet
TD - Rehabilitated bridge
TE - Non-highway bridge (pedestrian, bicycle, railroad, etc.)
TZ - Special solution
TI - International Transportation (outside of the U.S. and Canada)

Entrants in the program may also choose to have their projects considered for the Harry H. Edwards Industry Advancement Award. The purpose of this award is to showcase fresh, uninhibited concepts that hold the potential to move the industry to the next generation of technology for industry, materials, products, processes, and applications.

Entrants in the program may also choose to have their project considered for the All-Precast Concrete Solution Award. This award recognizes the structure in which the owner's needs were best achieved by the selection of an essentially all-precast/ prestressed concrete system. This would include the primary structural and envelope systems of the project. It does not require that precast concrete be used for everything (e.g. roofs, cladding may consist of other materials as well as precast, etc.)

Entrants in the program may also choose to have their projects considered for the Sustainable Design Award. PCI seeks to promote green building and infrastructure, which incorporates environmental considerations in every phase of the process, including design, construction, and operation. The purpose of this award is to encourage the construction of responsible, innovative designs that are sensitive to the environment while meeting the needs of the public, owner, and/or occupants. Buildings need not be LEED certified to qualify.

  1. List all green goals or owner project requirements for this project and a short explanation of how they were achieved.
  2. Submit a short narrative on any green/sustainable modifications to your typical plant processes and procedures that were required for this project.
  3. Provide a breakdown of all LEED points achieved (if applicable) in this project, as well as a short description of any points where precast concrete contributed to the attainment of points.
  4. Describe the sustainable attributes precast concrete added to the project.
  5. Describe any upfront and ongoing collaboration among team members.
  6. List any lessons learned related to working on a green project.

Submitters may also choose to have their project considered for the Building Information Modeling (BIM) Award. This prestigious honor is awarded to a PCI Member for utilizing BIM in their everyday work practices. The Award represents a comprehensive use and implementation of BIM and BIM technology. Submissions should incorporate the use of BIM for 3D CAD coordination and clash detection as well as the use of 3D CAD data for manufacturing and scheduling. Winning entries will demonstrate the highest level of 3D CAD data reuse through project and business management tools in addition to CAD/CAM technologies implemented in the manufacturing and installation environment.

The winner of the BIM Award represents an entry having utilized all the available technological resources to refine the delivery process of a precast, prestressed concrete system.

Please provide the following:

  1. Photos of any of the BIM tools specified as used in the software information
  2. Photos of the production and erection process utilizing CAD/CAM technologies specified as used in the CAD/CAM group
  3. Photos of utilization of Virtual/Mixed/Augmented Reality
  4. Photos of the completed project

No content found

No content found

No content found

2025 Design Awards Guidelines & Forms


If you have questions related to the PCI Design Awards program, please email PCIDesignAwards@pci.org.


Because the purpose of the program is to encourage new and advanced architectural and engineering approaches in the use of precast concrete systems, PCI and PCI Regional affiliates shall have the right to publish all photographs, names of any and all entrants, and projects submitted to the program without compensation. Each entrant assumes responsibility for material submitted. All entrants must complete a photo permission form for each photographer. Entries without completed forms will be disqualified. All submissions become property of PCI.