Purpose: To honor the contributions and legacy of Mario J. Bertolini by recognizing PCI producer members who have demonstrated an outstanding ability in the management of precast concrete operations and in support of PCI and the precast concrete industry.

Award Cycle: Annual consideration, with the award presented only when deserved.


  • The candidate must be living at the time of nomination.
  • The candidate must be or have been employed in management positions with PCI producer member firms for a minimum of 20 years.
  • The candidate must have served for a minimum of five years in an executive position (chairperson, president, chief executive officer, chief operating officer, vice president, general manager, or similar position) with a single PCI producer member firm.
  • The candidate must have served on the PCI Board of Directors.
  • The candidate must have served on one or more PCI councils or committees, demonstrating a wide range of interests.
  • The candidate must have advanced through his/her leadership the use of precast concrete with innovative production, erection, or construction procedures.
  • Any nominee not selected shall require renomination in a subsequent year to be considered again.

2021 Award Winner: Edward S. Knowles


  • The recipient of the Mario J. Bertolini Leadership & Innovation Award shall:
    • Be an individual who exhibits the personal and professional traits that Mario Bertolini exemplified; and
    • Have made very significant contributions to PCI and the precast concrete industry over an extended period of time; and
    • Have provided volunteer service for the benefit of the general public, the community, and charitable organizations.
  • The nomination shall be made by:
    • An individual member of PCI in good standing; or
    • An employee of an organizational (producer, associate, supporting organization) member in good standing of PCI; or
    • An employee of PCI national or its regional affiliates or chapter partners.

Candidate Selection:

  • Nominations for this award shall be made to the Mario J. Bertolini Leadership & Innovation Award selection jury and shall include a letter identifying the specific characteristics and qualifications of the candidate, including examples that meet the award criteria.
  • At least three additional letters of support from peers within the industry must be included with the nomination form.
  • The official nomination form shall be completed and included with the aforementioned letter.
  • Nominations shall be submitted to PCI headquarters no later than 90 days prior to the event at which the award is to be presented.
  • Final recipient determination from the selection jury shall be due to PCI 60 days prior to the event at which the award will be presented.
  • The selection jury shall consist of the following:
    • The current chair of the PCI Board of Directors, who shall serve as chair;
    • The PCI president;
    • Six senior PCI board members of regional affiliates or chapter partners;
    • The chair of the PCI Research & Development Council;
    • The two most recent recipients of the award who are able and willing to serve.
  • Jury vacancies shall be filled through appointment by the jury chair.

Nominate a candidate:

Please complete the electronic nomination form below. Please note that the form cannot be saved and must be completed in one sitting. You must submit a nomination letter with this form along with at least three additional letters of support from peers within the industry.

Nomination Form
(Website Link)

For more information or to submit a candidate, contact Arelys Schaedler, PCI’s Executive Assistant, at aschaedler@pci.org.

Mario J. Bertolini Award Recipients

  • 2020 - William Clayton*
  • 2019 - Tom Kelley*
  • 2018 - Greg Force
  • 2016 - Michael E. Quinlan*
  • 2015 - Robert Finfrock